Meet Our Team

We are a diverse, passionate group of individuals working as a team and united by a shared commitment to equitable solutions to homelessness.

Staff

Passia Abraham

Senior Health Strategist

Passia Abraham leads Building Changes' work in health, focusing on developing strategies to meet the health and housing needs of children, youth, and families experiencing homelessness.

Passia.Abraham@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6112

Liza Burell

Managing Director of Programs

Liza Burell, MSW, oversees Building Changes' programmatic work in the areas of housing crisis, education, and health.

Liza.Burell@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6143

Terra Chen

Strategic Communications Lead

Terra Chen oversees Building Changes' communications efforts and strategy.

Terra.Chen@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6121

Atlas Fernandez

Office Manager

Atlas Fernandez provides support for the executive director and for maintenance of the organization’s physical environment.

Atlas.Fernandez@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6123

Dimitri Groce

Senior Manager, Grantmaking & Capacity Building

Dimitri Groce, MSW, leads grantmaking and capacity building initiatives, with a focus on youth and young adults and creating equitable homeless response systems.

Dimitri.Groce@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6135

Joey Heilman

Education Strategy Specialist

Joey Heilman, MSW, manages Building Changes’ work in education and student homelessness.

Joey.Heilman@BuildingChanges.org

Josh Herrington

Development Manager

Josh Herrington leads Building Changes' development team in fostering relationships with our supporters and raising funds towards our mission.

Josh.Herrington@BuildingChanges.org

Samie Iverson

Senior Manager, Education Strategy

Samie Iverson, MSW, leads Building Changes' work in education and student homelessness.

Samie.Iverson@buildingchanges.org
(206) 620-0879

Matthew Lemon

Director of Research & Evaluation

Matthew Lemon, MPA, oversees Research & Evaluation, including evaluation of grant projects and analysis of administrative datasets. He also leads the development and implementation of Building Changes' research on student homelessness.

Matthew.Lemon@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6141

Edgar Longoria

Senior Manager, Grantmaking & Capacity Building

Edgar Longoria, MPA, leads housing partnerships and new initiatives focused on children, youth, and families.

Edgar.Longoria@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-9000

Betsy Naymon

Research Associate

Betsy Naymon implements research, evaluation, and data analysis projects, with a focus on the housing crisis response and education systems.

Betsy.Naymon@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6124

Mandy Park

Senior Manager, Operations

Mandy Park, leads internal operations and board relations, while also tracking Building Changes' programmatic workplans and strategic direction.

Mandy.Park@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6128

Jaclyn Pueyo

Controller

Jaclyn Pueyo oversees all accounting activities for Building Changes and also helps guide strategic financial decisions.

Jaclyn.Pueyo@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6132

Bree Quatacker

Contracts Manager

Bree Quatacker provides technical administration of incoming and outgoing contracts, risk assessment and advisement, and database management.

Bree.Quatacker@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6144

Joyce Saldanha

Senior Manager, Accounting

Joyce Saldanha manages essential accounting functions and supports account analysis, research, and process improvement.

Joyce.Saldanha@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6120

Mehret Tekle-Awarun

Director of Practice Innovation

Mehret Tekle-Awarun oversees Building Changes' programmatic team, supporting and guiding implementation of grantmaking, technical assistance, and capacity-building work. She also leads efforts in education and student homelessness.

Mehret.Tekle@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6155

Megan Veith

Senior Manager, Policy, Advocacy, & Research

Megan Veith, JD, leads policy, advocacy, and research work, as well as projects focused on health.

Megan.Veith@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6163

MW

Manami Wakuta

Accounting Coordinator

Manami Wakuta maintains and supports internal controls associated with cash receipts, accounts payable, accounts receivable, and other accounting processes.

Manami.Wakuta@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6145

Tasha West-Baker

Director of People & Culture

Tasha West-Baker oversees and guides Building Changes' employee relations and race equity initiatives.

Tasha.West-Baker@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6119

KY

Kalyn Y.

Senior Research Associate

Kalyn Y., MPH, leads research, evaluation, and data analysis projects, with a focus on the Washington Youth & Families Fund.


EY

Edith Yang

Senior Manager, Communications

Edith Yang is the lead writer and project manager for Building Changes’ communications materials.

Edith.Yang@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 620-1875

Daniel Narváez Zavala

Executive Director

Daniel Narváez Zavala, JD, MA, oversees all aspects of Building Changes' operations and leads the organization's efforts to advance equitable responses to homelessness. Prior to assuming the role of executive director, Daniel served as director of policy and strategic communications.

Daniel.Zavala@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6119

Board of Directors

J. Wesley Saint Clair

President

Retired, King County Superior Court Judge


David Wertheimer

Vice President

Adjunct Professor, Seattle University


Rogers Weed

Treasurer & Immediate Past President

Angel Investor, CleanTech


Chad Swaney

Secretary

Senior Director, Sales Training & Communication, Zillow Group


Michael Brown

Chief Architect of Civic Commons, The Seattle Foundation


Chris Bruno

Owner, X2Y Strategic Advisors


Rhonda Hauff

Chief Executive Officer, Yakima Neighborhood Health Services


TH

Tracy Hilliard

Director, ORS Impact


Lee Murdock

Executive Director, Homeless Network of Yakima County


Dilip Wagle

Director, McKinsey & Company


TW

Travis Walter

General Manager, Worldwide Retail Stores, Microsoft


Get the latest news from Building Changes.