Meet Our Team

We are a diverse, passionate group of individuals working as a team and united by a shared commitment to equitable solutions to homelessness.

Staff

Passia Abraham

Senior Health Strategist

Passia Abraham leads Building Changes' work in health, focusing on developing strategies to meet the health and housing needs of children, youth, and families experiencing homelessness.

Passia.Abraham@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6112

Liza Burell

Managing Director of Programs

Liza Burell, MSW, oversees Building Changes' programmatic work in the areas of housing crisis, education, and health.

Liza.Burell@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6143

Terra Chen

Strategic Communications Lead

Terra Chen oversees Building Changes' communications efforts and strategy.

Terra.Chen@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6121

Katharina Deiter

Development Associate

Kat Deiter supports efforts to raise funds towards our mission through both individual and institutional giving.

Kat.Deiter@BuildingChanges.org

Atlas Fernandez

Office Manager

Atlas Fernandez provides support for the executive director and for maintenance of the organization’s physical environment.

Atlas.Fernandez@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6123

Dimitri Groce

Senior Manager, Grantmaking & Capacity Building

Dimitri Groce, MSW, leads grantmaking and capacity building initiatives, with a focus on youth and young adults and creating equitable homeless response systems.

Dimitri.Groce@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6135

Joey Heilman

Education Strategy Specialist

Joey Heilman, MSW, manages Building Changes’ work in education and student homelessness.

Joey.Heilman@BuildingChanges.org

Josh Herrington

Development Director

Josh Herrington oversees Building Changes' efforts to foster relationships with our supporters and raise funds towards our mission.

Josh.Herrington@BuildingChanges.org

Samie Iverson

Senior Manager, Education Strategy

Samie Iverson, MSW, leads Building Changes' work in education and student homelessness.

Samie.Iverson@buildingchanges.org
(206) 620-0879

Matthew Lemon

Director of Research & Evaluation

Matthew Lemon, MPA, oversees Research & Evaluation, including evaluation of grant projects and analysis of administrative datasets. He also leads the development and implementation of Building Changes' research on student homelessness.

Matthew.Lemon@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6141

Edgar Longoria

Senior Manager, Grantmaking & Capacity Building

Edgar Longoria, MPA, leads housing partnerships and new initiatives focused on children, youth, and families.

Edgar.Longoria@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-9000

Betsy Naymon

Research Associate

Betsy Naymon implements research, evaluation, and data analysis projects, with a focus on the housing crisis response and education systems.

Betsy.Naymon@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6124

Mandy Park

Associate Director of Operations

Mandy Park oversees internal operations and board relations, while also tracking Building Changes' programmatic workplans and strategic direction.

Mandy.Park@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6128

Jaclyn Pueyo

Controller

Jaclyn Pueyo oversees all accounting activities for Building Changes and also helps guide strategic financial decisions.

Jaclyn.Pueyo@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6132

Bree Quatacker

Contracts Manager

Bree Quatacker provides technical administration of incoming and outgoing contracts, risk assessment and advisement, and database management.

Bree.Quatacker@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6144

Joyce Saldanha

Senior Manager, Accounting

Joyce Saldanha manages essential accounting functions and supports account analysis, research, and process improvement.

Joyce.Saldanha@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6120

Mehret Tekle-Awarun

Director of Practice Innovation

Mehret Tekle-Awarun oversees Building Changes' programmatic team, supporting and guiding implementation of grantmaking, technical assistance, and capacity-building work. She also leads efforts in education and student homelessness.

Mehret.Tekle@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6155

Megan Veith

Director of Policy & Advocacy

Megan Veith, JD, oversees Building Changes' policy and advocacy work, including developing and advancing a state legislative agenda that supports the organization's strategic goals.

Megan.Veith@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6163

MW

Manami Wakuta

Staff Accountant

Manami Wakuta maintains and supports internal controls associated with cash receipts, accounts payable, accounts receivable, and other accounting processes.

Manami.Wakuta@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6145

Tasha West-Baker

Director of People & Culture

Tasha West-Baker oversees and guides Building Changes' employee relations and race equity initiatives.

Tasha.West-Baker@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6134

KY

Kalyn Y.

Senior Research Associate

Kalyn Y., MPH, leads research, evaluation, and data analysis projects, with a focus on the Washington Youth & Families Fund.


EY

Edith Yang

Senior Manager, Communications

Edith Yang is the lead writer and project manager for Building Changes’ communications materials.

Edith.Yang@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 620-1875

Daniel Narváez Zavala

Executive Director

Daniel Narváez Zavala, JD, MA, oversees all aspects of Building Changes' operations and leads the organization's efforts to advance equitable responses to homelessness. Prior to assuming the role of executive director, Daniel served as director of policy and strategic communications.

Daniel.Zavala@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6119

Board of Directors

J. Wesley Saint Clair

President

Retired, King County Superior Court Judge

Retired, King County Superior Court Judge


T’wina Nobles

Vice President

President & CEO, Black Future Co-op Fund; Washington State Senator, 28th Legislative District

President & CEO, Black Future Co-op Fund
Washington State Senator, 28th Legislative District


David Wertheimer

Vice President

Retired, Director of Community & Civic Engagement, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

He/Him/His

Retired, Director of Community & Civic Engagement, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation


Chad Swaney

Secretary

Head of Advertiser Support Performance, Amazon

He/Him/His

Head of Advertiser Support Performance, Amazon


Chris Bruno

Treasurer

Fractional CFO and Co-Founder of Journey CxO

He/Him/His

Fractional CFO and Co-Founder of Journey CxO


Rogers Weed

Immediate Past President

Angel Investor, CleanTech

Angel Investor, CleanTech


Michael Brown

Chief Architect of Civic Commons, The Seattle Foundation

He/Him/His

Chief Architect of Civic Commons, The Seattle Foundation


Rhonda Hauff

CEO, Yakima Neighborhood Health Services

She/Her/Hers

CEO, Yakima Neighborhood Health Services


TH

Tracy Hilliard

Director, ORS Impact

Director, ORS Impact


Lee Murdock

Director, Homeless Network of Yakima County

She/Her/Hers

Director, Homeless Network of Yakima County


Dilip Wagle

Director, McKinsey & Company

Director, McKinsey & Company


TW

Travis Walter

General Manager, Worldwide Retail Stores, Microsoft

General Manager, Worldwide Retail Stores, Microsoft


Get the latest news from Building Changes.