Meet Our Team

We are a diverse, passionate group of individuals working as a team and united by a shared commitment to equitable solutions to homelessness.

Staff

Mabana Bamba

Development Associate

Mabana Bamba supports the development team and fundraising efforts through donor database management, communications, and donor research.

Mabana.Bamba@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6135

Liza Burell

Program Director

Liza Burell, MSW, oversees all of Building Changes' program areas, including our student homelessness initiative, Washington Youth & Families Fund grant portfolio, and Washington State Student and Youth Homelessness COVID-19 Response Fund.

Liza.Burell@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6143

Terra Chen

Strategic Communications Lead

Terra Chen oversees Building Changes' communications efforts and strategy.

Terra.Chen@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6121

Atlas Fernandez

Administrative Assistant

Atlas Fernandez provides administrative support to the executive director.

Atlas.Fernandez@BuildingChanges.org

Dimitri Groce

Senior Manager, Grantmaking & Capacity Building

Dimitri Groce, MSW, leads grantmaking and capacity building initiatives, with a focus on youth and young adults and creating equitable homeless response systems.

Dimitri.Groce@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6135

Josh Herrington

Development Manager

Josh Herrington leads Building Changes' development team in fostering relationships with our supporters and raising funds towards our mission.

Josh.Herrington@BuildingChanges.org

Samie Iverson

Senior Manager, Education Strategy

Samie Iverson, MSW, leads Building Changes' work in education and student homelessness.

Samie.Iverson@buildingchanges.org
(206) 620-0879

Katara Jordan

Senior Manager, Policy & Advocacy

Katara Jordan, JD, MSW, leads policy and advocacy work, as well as initiatives focused on student homelessness.

Katara.Jordan@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6112

Matthew Lemon

Director of Research & Evaluation

Matthew Lemon, MPA, oversees Research & Evaluation, including evaluation of grant projects and analysis of administrative datasets. He also leads the development and implementation of Building Changes' research on student homelessness.

Matthew.Lemon@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6141

Mary Beth Lochnicht

Institutional Giving Manager

Mary Beth Lochnicht manages fundraising efforts focused on institutional giving, including grant writing and proposal development.

Mbeth.Lochnicht@BuildingChanges.org

AJP

Armilito J. Pangilinan

Chief Financial Officer

Armilito J Pangilinan, CPA, oversees Finance and Operations, working closely with staff leadership to develop strategy and implement programs and systems.

Armilito.Pangilinan@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6115

Mandy Park

Senior Manager, Operations

Mandy Park, MA, leads internal operations and board relations, while also tracking Building Changes' programmatic workplans and strategic direction.

Mandy.Park@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6128

Paul Paulson

Operations & Technology Coordinator

Paul Paulson provides general office support and coordinates operations and technology projects.

Paul.Paulson@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6151

Jaclyn Pueyo

Senior Accounting Manager

Jaclyn Pueyo leads development and implementation of accounting systems and manages overall accounting operations.

Jaclyn.Pueyo@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6132

Bree Quatacker

Grants Manager

Bree Quatacker manages administrative components of grantmaking, including contractual, financial, reporting, monitoring, and database management.

Bree.Quatacker@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6144

Joyce Saldanha

Accounting Manager

Joyce Saldanha manages essential accounting functions and supports account analysis, research, and process improvement.

Joyce.Saldanha@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6120

Mehret Tekle-Awarun

Senior Manager, Education Strategy

Mehret Tekle-Awarun leads Building Changes' work in education and student homelessness.

Mehret.Tekle@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6155

Megan Veith

Senior Manager, Policy, Advocacy, & Research

Megan Veith, JD, leads policy, advocacy, and research work, as well as projects focused on health.

Megan.Veith@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6163

MW

Manami Wakuta

Accounting Coordinator

Manami Wakuta maintains and supports internal controls associated with cash receipts, accounts payable, accounts receivable, and other accounting processes.

Manami.Wakuta@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6145

Tasha West-Baker

Human Resources and Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Manager

Tasha West-Baker leads and guides Building Changes' employee relations and race equity initiatives.

Tasha.West-Baker@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6119

KY

Kalyn Y.

Senior Research Associate

Kalyn Y., MPH, leads research, evaluation, and data analysis projects, with a focus on the Washington Youth & Families Fund.


EY

Edith Yang

Senior Manager, Communications

Edith Yang is the lead writer and project manager for Building Changes’ communications materials.

Edith.Yang@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-9101

Daniel Zavala

Executive Director

Daniel Zavala, JD, MA, oversees all aspects of Building Changes' operations and leads the organization's efforts to advance equitable responses to homelessness. Prior to assuming the role of executive director, Daniel served as director of policy and strategic communications.

Daniel.Zavala@BuildingChanges.org
(206) 805-6119

Board of Directors

J. Wesley Saint Clair

President

Retired, King County Superior Court Judge


David Wertheimer

Vice President

Adjunct Professor, Seattle University


Rogers Weed

Treasurer & Immediate Past President

Angel Investor, CleanTech


Chad Swaney

Secretary

Senior Director, Sales Training & Communication, Zillow Group


Michael Brown

Chief Architect of Civic Commons, The Seattle Foundation


Chris Bruno

Owner, X2Y Strategic Advisors


TH

Tracy Hilliard

Director, ORS Impact


T’wina Nobles

President & CEO, Tacoma Urban League Washington State Senator, 28th Legislative District


DW

Dilip Wagle

Director, McKinsey & Company


TW

Travis Walter

General Manager, Worldwide Retail Stores, Microsoft


Get the latest news from Building Changes.